The Mid Atlantic Compact is comprised of seven state and associate partners from the US Forest Service, National Park Service and Fish and Wildlife Service.  The seven states in the compact are Ohio, West Virginia, Virginia, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, and Maryland.  The primary goals of the compact as listed in the charter are as follows; assist in fire suppression between the states, work together in developing fire prevention programs and combine our resources to promote quality fire suppression training.  The compact board meets at least two times each year to set priorities and to plan for the coming years.  The funding for the compact comes from a grant from State and Private Forestry.  With that money the compact plans the training sessions, cover the costs of fire prevention material and employes one person to administer the grants.

Mid-Atlantic Compacts Chair

The board consists of the fire supervisors for each state with a rotating chairperson.

John Berst

Mid-Atlantic Fire Compacts Chair


  The following are the member states of the Mid-Atlantic Compact. Click each flag (below) to visit the state’s forest fire website.