Alliance of Forest Fire Compacts

 A consortium of the eight existing forest fire compacts representing 43 states and all of Canada except one province and one territory. State forest fire programs are reinforced through forest fire compacts between the states.  Established under the Weeks law and other specific legislation enacted by Congress, state forest fire compacts reduce wildfire suppression costs for local, state and Federal jurisdictions by allowing states to share personnel and equipment and by minimizing the fire fighting burden on any single state during periods of high fire occurrence.

See U.S.A’s Compacts

See Canada’s Compacts

See Compact Description

Compacts in the United States of America

Select the state to view the compact page. Some states represent multiple compacts and will not be link to a specific compact page.

Compacts in the Canada

Select the providence to view the compact page. Some providences represent multiple compacts and will not be link to a specific compact page.

Compact Map

Striped providences and states represent multiple compacts.

Compact Description

Click the compass icon to know more about each compact.

Big Rivers Forest Fire Management Compact

Illinois, Indiana, Iowa and Missouri.

Great Lakes Forrest Fire Compact

Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Ontario, and Manitoba.

Northwest Forest Fire Compact

Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, Alaska, British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Yukon Territory, and Northwest Territories.

Mid-Atlantic Forest Fire Compact 

Ohio, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia*, and West Virginia*.

Great Plains Forest Fire Compact 

Wyoming, South Dakota, North Dakota, Colorado, Nebraska, and Saskatchewan.

Northeast Forest Fire Compact 

Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New York, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Newfoundland.

South Central Interstate Forest Fire Compact 

Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana, and Mississippi*.

Southeastern Forest Fire Compact 

West Virginia*, Virginia*, Kentucky, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Mississippi*, Alabama, Georgia, Florida