The Northern Forest Fire Protection Commission (commonly called “The Northeast Compact) is the pioneer forest fire protection compact in the United States. It was initiated in 1947 and established in 1949 to promote effective prevention and control of forest fires in the Northeastern Region of the United States and adjacent areas in Canada. Original members were the states of Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island and New York. It became an international compact in 1969 and 1970 with the addition of the Canadian provinces of Quebec and New Brunswick respectively. In 1996, the province of Nova Scotia became a member, as did the combined Green Mountain and White Mountain National Forests, to be recognized by the term US Forest Service and as “Associate Members”. In 2007, Newfoundland and Labrador (one province) joined the compact thereby increasing total membership to twelve. The US Fish and Wildlife Service and the US National Park Service became Associate Members as of July 1, 2011. The Fire Department of New York City (FDNY) became an associate member on August 11, 2015.

Northeast Fire Compact Chair

Tom Parent

Northeast Compact Chair

Northeast Forest Fire Protection Compact (NFFPC)
P.O. Box 6192
21 Parmenter Terrace
China Village, ME 04926


 The following are the member states and providences of the Northern Forest Fire Protection Commission. Click each flag (below) to visit the state or providence’s forest fire website.